Moore County's Drivers License Eligibility and Revocation Process page

Drivers License Eligibility and Revocation Process

In North Carolina, students under 18 can lose their driver's license if they:

  • Drop out of school;

  • Fail to make adequate academic progress; or

  • Commit certain offenses resulting in out-of-school suspension.

Dropout Prevention/Driver's License Legislation
North Carolina House Bill 769 became effective December 1, 1997 and reflects a coordinated statewide effort to motivate and encourage students to complete high school. This legislation requires that a student's driving permit or license be revoked if a student is unable to maintain adequate progress or drops out of school. Adequate progress is defined as passing 70% of all courses and is determined by first semester grades and second semester grades for schools on block scheduling.

In rare cases, there may be circumstances beyond the control of the student or his/her parents that qualify as a hardship. If a hardship exists, the student may request a waiver. If the waiver is granted, the student would not be affected by the legislation. Hardship cases are rare and are reserved for extreme situations. Hardship Review forms are available at your school and must be submitted within the time-frames indicated. Documentation of the hardship is essential and must be submitted with the hardship request for consideration.

Lose Control, Lose Your License Legislation
North Carolina Senate Bill 57, which became effective July 1, 2000, requires that a student's driving permit or license be revoked for one year (365 days) if a student is given a suspension for more than 10 consecutive days or an assignment to an alternative educational setting for more than 10 consecutive days for one of the following reasons:

  • The possession or sale of an alcoholic beverage or an illegal controlled substance on school property;

  • The possession or use on school property of a weapon or firearm that resulted in disciplinary action under G.S. 115C-391 (d1) or that could have resulted in that disciplinary action if the conduct had occurred in a public school; or

  • The physical assault on a teacher or other school personnel on school property.

Students who are at least 14 years old or who were rising 8th graders on or after July 1, 2000, are subject to this law. Students who were issued a NC driver's permit or license before December 1, 1997, or students who are 18 years old or older cannot be charged under this law.

Unlike the "Dropout Prevention/Driver's License" law that only affects students under the age of 18, the "Lose Control" law does not stop at age 18. It is possible for a student to have his or her license suspended as a 17-and-a-half-year-old and not be eligible to drive for a full calendar year, reaching 18-and-a-half before again being eligible to drive.

Questions may be posed to the Administrator for Student Support Services, Dr. Seth Powers, at 910.947.2976.

The NC Department of Public Instruction makes available a comprehensive Frequently Asked Questions concerning driving eligibility that is worth reading.

  • Moore County Schools
  • 5277 Hwy. 15-501 South, Carthage, NC 28327
  • 910-947-2976
  • 910-947-3011
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.